LANCOM Support Knowledgebase Document No. 1007.0714.5112.RHOO - V1.60

Using alternative boot configurations



Description:

This document describes how to use alternative boot configurations.

Requirements:

  • LCOS version >=8.0
  • The current LANtools
    • You can find the latest version of LCOS for your LANCOM router here.
    • The latest LANtools are available here.
  • Webbrowser
  • Telnet- or SSH-Client
  • A compatible LANCOM device:
    • LANCOM 1681V, LANCOM 1780x, LANCOM 1781x, LANCOM 17x1+ VPN, LANCOM 172x VoIP, LANCOM 1751 UMTS,
      LANCOM 18x1n Wireless, LANCOM 1823 VoIP, LANCOM 3850, LANCOM 831A
    • LANCOM L-32x Wireless, LANCOM L-305agn, LANCOM L-31xagn, LANCOM L-45x Wireless, LANCOM L-460 Wireless, LANCOM L-13xxacn dual Wireless
    • LANCOM OAP-54x, LANCOM OAC-54-1, LANCOM OAP-310agn, LANCOM OAP-321, LANCOM OAP-322, LANCOM OAP-382, LANCOM OAP-321-3G, LANCOM OAP-3G

Functionality:

LANCOM devices can make use of three different boot configurations:
  • LANCOM factory settings: These are the default values for the model as shipped, i.e. the LANCOM standard. The standard boot configuration is contained in the device's firmware.
  • Customer-specific standard settings: These are the customer's own standard settings for the model in question. These are used when the configuration memory is empty but the LANCOM default settings should not be used. This function provides LANCOM devices with persistent settings (i.e. remaining available however many times the device is rebooted or reset) that contain customer-specific standard settings for the boot procedure. Customer-specific standard settings are not deleted by a configuration reset. Customer-specific standard settings are stored to the first boot memory space.
  • Rollout configuration: This configuration is useful for large-scale rollout scenarios where multiple devices need a boot configuration that differs from the LANCOM default configuration. The rollout configuration is activated by pressing the reset key for a particular length of time. The specialized rollout configuration is stored to the second boot memory space.

When started normally, the LANCOM devices try to use the available configurations in a set order:
  • User-defined configuration (in the configuration memory)
  • Customer-specific standard settings (in the first boot memory space)
  • LANCOM factory settings (in firmware)

The customer-specific standard settings are taken automatically and in preference to the LANCOM factory settings, assuming that the configuration memory is empty. The rollout configuration is activated with the reset button. The reset button fulfills various functions depending upon how long the button is pressed:
  • Less than 5 seconds: Boot (restart), where by the user-defined configuration is loaded from the configuration memory. If the user-defined configuration is empty, then the customer-specific standard settings (first memory space) are loaded instead. The loading of the customer-specific standard settings is visible when all LEDs on the device light up briefly in red. Similarly, the LANCOM factory settings are loaded if the first memory space is empty.
  • Longer than 5 seconds until the first time that all device LEDs light up: Configuration reset (deletes the configuration memory) followed by a restart. In this case the customer-specific standard settings (first memory space) are loaded instead. The loading of the customer-specific standard settings is visible when all LEDs on the device light up briefly in red. The LANCOM factory settings are loaded if the first memory space is empty.
  • Longer than 15 seconds until the second time that all device LEDs light up: Activating the rollout configuration and deleting the user-defined configuration After restarting, the rollout configuration is started from the second memory space. The loading of the rollout configuration is visible when all LEDs on the device light up twice briefly in red. The LANCOM factory settings are loaded if the second memory space is empty.

The rollout configuration is activated directly after restarting if the reset button is pressed for more than 15 seconds. The next time the device is restarted, the normal boot sequence applies again automatically (user-defined configuration, customer-specific standard settings, LANCOM factory settings).

Info: If the reset button has been deactivated in the configuration (set to 'Ignore' or 'Boot only'), it is impossible to load the rollout configuration.

The following diagram illustrates which configuration is loaded by the different reset procedures, depending on the status of the device.

Examples:
  • If the button is pressed for less than 5 seconds, the user-defined configuration is loaded. If this is not available, then the customer-specific standard settings are loaded. If this is not available then the LANCOM factory settings are loaded.
  • If the reset button is pressed for more than 15 seconds the user-defined configuration is deleted. If this is not available then the rollout configuration is loaded. if the rollout configuration is not available then the LANCOM factory settings are loaded.




Uploading the boot configurations:

WEBconfig can be used to upload customer-specific settings or the rollout configuration into the device:

Open the menu File management -> Upload configuration.



Here you select the configuration file to be used and you activate the purpose as either customer-specific standard settings (first alternative boot configuration) and/or rollout configuration (second alternative boot configuration).

Info: If both memory spaces are taken up with customer-specific standard settings and a rollout configuration, then the device cannot be reset to the LANCOM factory settings by using the reset button. In this case you should use the function ’Restoring the LANCOM factory settings via the serial port.

By means of the command line function, the current device configuration can be saved as customer-specific standard settings or as a rollout configuration. Use the following command for this:
    bootconfig --savecurrent [1,2, all] or bootconfig -s [1,2, all]

Entering the appropriate number ensures that either the first boot memory space for the customer-specific standard settings is selected, or the second boot memory space for the rollout configuration. The parameter "all" writes the current configuration to both memory spaces at the same time.


Deleting the boot configurations:

The alternative and the special boot configurations cannot be deleted with the normal file functions. Use the
following command for this:
    bootconfig --remove [1,2, all] or bootconfig -r [1,2, all]
Selecting the appropriate number ensures that the corresponding boot memory space is selected. The parameter
"all" causes both memory spaces to be deleted at once.

Catchwords: boot; configuration; alternative
Please review this document! This document was helpful This document was not helpful